The RIDE is BACK...Don't Miss the Bus!

Rediscover Iowa's Diverse Education (RIDE)

June 4-7, 2023

Our 20th Anniversary!

 In honor of our 20th Anniversary, this year's non-refundable registration fee for school counselors is only $20!


It's our 20th year! Our famous 3-day bus tour for school counselors provides a door-to-door, first-hand look at select college campuses and what makes them unique. Each year the RIDE takes counselors to a variety of colleges in a specific region for tours, hands-on learning, meals
and even overnights in residence halls!

All transportation, meals, and lodging are taken care of by host colleges and Iowa ACAC.

The 2023 tour takes us to:

Iowa Central
Buena Vista University
Iowa Lakes Community College
Dordt University
Northwestern College
Northwest Community College
Morningside University
Briar Cliff University
Western Iowa Tech Community College


 The RIDE is designed for school counselors. If space allows, we will support CCTCs. Feel free to email [email protected] if you are an interested CCTC.

 All high schools represented by RIDE participants will receive a one-year, organizational Iowa ACAC membership, which includes all members of their office. Share this professional development opportunity with your counseling counterparts throughout the seating! 



License renewal credit for the RIDE is $35. Registration is available at the following link. #205328 PL - Iowa College Tour for Counselors 2023.  Participants may register for credit until the first day of the RIDE School counselors must participate in all RIDE activities and submit a journal reflection outlining their experience. The course instructor (Sheryl Bass) will share a template for journaling with class participants prior to the start of the RIDE.

Participants may register at  AEA Professional Learning Registration site using Registration & Access Instructions or Video Tutorial: Registering for a Class:  #205328 PL - Iowa College Tour for Counselors 2023

End of registration: June 5, 2023



Questions about RIDE in general? Email RIDE Coordinator and Iowa ACAC President-Elect Chevy Freiburger at [email protected] or [email protected]

2023 RIDE Committee

Chevy Freiburger - President-Elect, Central College
Chris Traetow, University of Iowa
Dan Schofield, University of Northern Iowa
Sheryl Bass, Linn Mar High School
Karla Wymore, Mason City High School
Liz Wessels, Kennedy High School
Cara Joens, Xavier High School
Kim Anderson, Sioux Central High School

Don't miss the bus!