The Inclusion, Access, and Success committee works with educational partners statewide to identify needs of underrepresented populations. The Committee promotes and develops programs to educate the underrepresented students about post-secondary options and assist with the transition.

The Freddy Miranda Access Scholarship is awarded to eight Iowa high school seniors, whose high schools and chosen colleges are members of Iowa ACAC. Freddy Miranda was someone who was giving of his time, cared for others, and had a desire to improve the world. It is our hope to honor Freddy’s memory by choosing scholarship recipients that embody similar qualities and characteristics. 

Students may apply on their own for the scholarship. Although not required, it is highly encouraged that students also include a letter of recommendation from a school counselor, teacher, employer, or advisor. We will not accept letters from immediate family members. The Freddy Miranda Scholarship amount is $1,000 for one year.

Special consideration will be given to students from underrepresented populations, who are first generation, and/or demonstrate financial need.

The scholarship application period opens December 1The deadline to apply for the Freddy Miranda Access Scholarship is March 1. Students must be attending a high school that is a member of Iowa ACAC (as of March 1), and their chosen college must be an Iowa ACAC member.

Search to see if your high school is a member! Member High Schools 

Informational Flyer for download (PDF)

Freddy Miranda worked in higher education in Iowa for more than a decade. He impacted the lives of hundreds of students, while working in Admissions for Central College, Pella, IA, University of Northern Iowa (UNI), Cedar Falls, IA, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, and Indian Hills Community College (IHCC), Ottumwa, IA. He was on a recruitment trip in Honduras, as the Director of International Affairs for IHCC, when he was killed in an automobile accident on March 8, 2016.




L.E.A.P. - Leading & Excelling, Academically & Professionally

A leadership conference for underrepresented freshmen, sophomores, and juniors in Iowa

L.E.A.P. empowers underrepresented students to understand the life-long rewards that come from achieving academic success and pursuing higher education. Participants will attend breakout sessions designed to encourage and equip students to focus on leadership, academics, work ethic, teamwork, the importance of being a positive role model, and positioning themselves for success in high school and beyond.

 Inclusion, Access and Success Committee

Juanita Zavala, Indian Hills Community College, Chair
Lauren Garcia-Pastorek, Coe College
Gabriel Hernandez Acosta, Mount Mercy University
Jess Salgado, Coe College
Janine Baeza, University of Northern Iowa
Jenelle Martin, Buena Vista University
Allison Peach, Waterloo East High School
Kisha Smith, Waterloo West High School
Leslie Garcia, University of Northern Iowa 

Want to be involved? Email [email protected]!